I love making creative music.

My music is mostly improvised — every time I pick up the guitar, I strive to play something new and different. I like surprises.

If you like new music, I post new tracks every week and also post regular guitar videos. For the latest updates, you can follow me on Instagram.

I'm lucky to work with an amazing community of musicians in Chicago and beyond. Check out the featured records section and listen to their music, too! 


Here's the three latest tracks I've posted. Here's the full list of tracks — they're all available for free download via Bandcamp. Enjoy!

Featured Records



The Music of Yoko Ono by The Miyumi Project

"Instrumentalists such as saxophonists Mwata Bowden and Edward Wilkerson Jr., percussionists Coco Elysses and Avreeayl Ra and guitarist Rami Atassi bring ample ferocity to the proceedings."  — Howard Reich, Chicago Tribune



The Curls

"Quirky and skillful sextet The Curls may only be a few years old, but they’re quickly illustrating why Chicago is a major breeding ground for creative, idiosyncratic, and fearless music"
— Pop Matters



The Caleb Willitz Band

The various musical voices are effortlessly expressed within ‘Apparently Alive’ each merging to create a unique narrative of countless sounds, one of exploration and intrigue... Willitz has managed to capture the beauty of musical improvisation exceptionally, creating a sound that is the perfect accompaniment to a long drive, and reflection.
— Gig Soup


Photo by Jacob Hand

Photo by Jacob Hand


Rami Atassi is a guitarist, noisemaker, and improviser based in Chicago. His work explores harmony, texture, space and feeling.

Working in a wide range of genres and projects, Rami is drawn to any music that's adventurous and authentic... from DIY indie rock, to solo guitar, and everything in between.

Recent credits include:

  • SKYLANDING (2016): The Music of Yoko Ono by The Miyumi Project
  • HOME (2017) by The Caleb Willitz Band, funded in part by the Chicago DCASE Grant
  • SUPER UNIT (2017) by The Curls
  • Rikuro Miyai’s Expanded Cinema: Live Score of Phenomenology of Zeitgeist @ The Art Institute Chicago. February 13, 2017
  • Quantum Monk by Fujima Yoshinojo. An interpretation of Japanese classical dance presented by Beyond The Box at Links Hall
  • And Then They Came for Us. This documentary is an historical look at the forced internment of Japanese Americans during WWII. Played guitar for the film score